Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K
I’m a Family nurse practitioner, work emergency department exclusively. Have done hospitalist/internal medicine but didn’t care for it.
Been in medicine for 12 years

My best friend works cardiology as a nurse practitioner, and I can assure you he knows way more about cardiology than most doctors that aren’t cardiologist

Physicians assistant vs NP? Both are basically interchangeable truth be told. Just two different routes to get to the same place. There are minor differences, but I have never worked anywhere that they did any different job or were paid any different. PA go into school with little to no medical experience. NP is expected to have experience and be knowledgeable going into school. So the training in school is a little different at times based upon what you are expected to already know.

In my ER there are 7 mid level( NP and PA). 4 of which are NP and 3 are PA. All can do the same job and are very good at it. We see everything from simple colds to strokes and heart attacks. Same as the docs.

Training time for both is about the same.
about 2 years for prerequisites, 3-4 years for BSN, 2 years for masters training. Expect it to take 6-8 years depending on the school

Pay wise it varies across the board depending on the field you work in, how busy your site is, and the patient population( are they indigent and have no insurance and cannot pay, or do they have insurance and will pay the copay or deductible).

Good thing about ER is we don’t care if you can pay or have insurance, we just do what needs to be done. We honestly don’t even know if you have insurance or not as providers in ER unless your a psychiatric patient( have to know to get you to a facility if needed)