Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
SDHNTR Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
I just had a new rifle built on a 700 action and a pac nor bbl. .260 Remmy. It’s very accurate and shoots most everything I’ve Fed it so far into 1/2-3/4” groups. But it seems to have a tight chamber. Before I even fired it, it would not load factory new Hornady brass. Bolt wouldn’t quite close all the way. Once I ran the brass through my re sizing die it was fine.

Today while testing a load using H4350 and a Barnes 127 LRX at .080 off lands (mag length) I got pressure signs, ejector wipe, at just 42 gr of powder, which seems incredibly light. I’ve read about 45gr charges using same powder and bullet.

So my question is… Are having a tight chamber and easily seeing pressure signs related? Seems logical to me, but I’m also still rather new at this.

GB1

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Seems to be lots of reports of Hornady ammo being oversized lately

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Would be nice to KNOW the reamer specs. Could be a neck dimension is tight with insufficient bullet release clearance. This could show up with some pieces being so tight you have signs of pressure and sometimes with others working fine.

I encountered it once, a gunsmith told reamer maker to "tighten" up the specs so it would shoot its best. (later realized gunsmith didn't know squat about what he was asking for) Gunsmith and I had a deal for me to work up loads for his customer's rifle, a 6.5-284. I had no idea there was an issue with not enough clearance for bullet release. Some of the pieces of lapua brass worked fine and others showed signs of pressure. Happened to try fitting a bullet into a fired case and it was very tight. That had me asking what the neck dimension was....couldn't believe I was handed a rifle with tight chamber neck without being told. Had to neck turn the brass for proper release dimension.