Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 9 of 10 1 2 7 8 9 10
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by jimjr
I’ve been a machinist for 43 years and am retiring at years end. We baby boomers are rapidly leaving all the trades but seems machinists are really leaving. My company and most nation wide are struggling to find any machinists at all. Pay is good and it’s not a particularly hard job if one gets the basics in a technical college. Almost everything we have and use is in some way touched by a machinist. We make molds to mold almost all our plastic parts and all parts to nearly everything from your auto to food prep to tools and whatever you can think of. Google machinist and read what we do to the shortage. I work for a medical device factory and make parts for surgical tables, overhead lights so surgeons can see, to scrub sinks, carts and other hospital equipment.

Two types of things in this world ......things God made or things Machinists made.

And if they didn’t make them. They made the tools to make them.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Those pilots don't work a lot of hours and get paid really well. Probably start with the military to get the hours. A fishing friend is a senior corporate pilot and does well. The wife's niece flies for Fed Ex because packages never complain and she wants for nothing. An ex military helicopter pilot tenant of mine quit at a local paper mill to go fly a helicopter with Minnesota execs into the Dakota oil fields.

My other auto is a .45

The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price has faded from memory
L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
Plumbing, Heating & Air, Electrical all pay well. The Electrical industry was good to me. Which ever one is chosen, try to get away from Residential and into Commercial or Industrial. And keep up with the current technology.

lightman
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Originally Posted by gunzo