Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I don't have the space to setup for reloading currently. In fact, I just started shooting rifles again, a couple months ago. My uncle passed away, and I got my Ruger .300 Win Mag back, that I had sold him.

Anyway, this season is going to be with factory fodder ammo. I always loaded/used Interlocks, Partitions, or Accubonds. Preferring heavier bullets in a .30 magnum, I ordered the Nosler Trophy Grade with the 200 grain Partition. Advertised velocity is 2750, which made me like the idea more. No need to run on the edge of safety for the small deer around here. Also, my son and I have been invited on a Black Bear hunt in WV, and a feral pig hunt in SC. So I'm wanting this bullet to be my do it all this year.

I'm just curious about others experience(s), using the 200 Partition on Bambi. Also others thoughts on the Nosler Ammunition.

PS: There is a 300+ lb bear around here, that has been a nightmare this year. He tore up my neighbors honey bees, and broke a crap load of Apple, Peach, and Cherry trees while burglarizing the fruit. He has become my goal for this year :-D

Attached Images
GB1

Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
.300 win and a 200 gr Partition...I think it will kill deer...and maybe...just maybe...a 300 lb bear.

"...the left considers you vermin, and they'll kill you given the chance..." Bristoe
M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Make sure another one isn't standing behind the one you want to shoot. grin

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Have taken big game from pronghorns to 6x6 elk with the .30 200 Partition, at ranges from 40 feet to 400 yards. You can kill whitetails from any angle with it, yet still need to be aware of what mathman noted.

At 2750 fps it will kill fine but USUALLY not shoot up much meat. (Have learned to qualify statements about bullets ruining game meat, because the results can vary, even with monolithics.)