Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
I've been working out at the gym 3x a week for the last two years, still plan to take some breaks during this fall's five day hunt. Dawn to dusk on stand gets tiresome after a few days, I'll be going back to camp for lunch and a nap every other day.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Oldman3
Originally Posted by Windfall
I understand that not gutting a deer before getting it out of the woods is a Southern thing, but frankly I don't understand why you would want to pull out 21-23% more body weight than you have to? Add to that it is probably warmer where you hunt and it seems to me that for the quality of the meat that you would want to open them up and get them cooling faster.

Sitting in a tree stand and nodding off is life threatening unless you are tied in better than most of us typically are. An acquaintance went to sleep, fell, broke his neck and his sons pulled him out of the woods three days later. You can't fall off the ground comes to mind every time I'm debating a tree stand or ground blind.

Paragraph 1..... I hunt on my land and can drive my 4 wheeler anywhere I want to. After I shoot a deer, it takes 3 minutes to walk to the house or 4 wheeler (depends on where I'm hunting) and less to drive to the deer. Load it on the 4 wheeler and drive to the house. Total 15 minutes, maybe. That's why I don't gut the deer, also, it draws coyotes.

Paragraph 2.... I fell out of a climbing stand, I wasn't asleep, and I was lucky, I'm still alive. I still use them, but now I also use a good harness. Wont fall out of one again. Some of the places I hunt, if I'm not elevated, I can't see more than 20'. Nothing against ground blind, but it's not practical where I hunt.