-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I know, I could find the answer by digging a little, but I'm gonna take the lazy way out and as the cognoscenti on the forum. I'm a bolt action guy with rifles and a revolver guy with handguns so I have little experience with detachable magazines. Recently, I have inherited an AR and a 1911, both of which I am enjoying.

My question is this: What is the recommended practice regarding leaving cartridges in detachable magazines for extended periods. Obviously, it would be best for the spring to unload the magazine immediately following each use. But there are clearly times when one might want a gun handy with a loaded magazine..

Is there a recommended time frame, weekly, monthly, whatever? Or is it the consensus that they can remain loaded indefinately without fatiguing the spring? TIA

GB1

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
None that I know of. Some springs don't care, others are affected. Best of course to not leave them loaded for an extended time. Never have left a rifle mag loaded, have several pistols that it does not seem to matter.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Maybe you could check with a supplier/manufacturer?

You're only going to get opinions here and general consensus may not be right - sounds like your life may depend on it. Any other reason to keep a mag loaded for long durations?

Originally Posted by mauserand9mm
Originally Posted by mauserand9mm
Originally Posted by Raspy
Whatever you said...everyone knows you are a lying jerk.

That's a bold assertion. Point out where you think I lied.

Well?
D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D

Originally Posted by southtexas
Obviously, it would be best for the spring to unload the magazine immediately following each use.