Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
O
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
O
Originally Posted by Savage_Hunter
guys, I am a pharmacist and also have BPH for almost 20 years. (i am 57)...
not a complete list of drugs or side effects.

1. The 2 Main types of Medicines.
A. Alpha Blockers
Uraxotrol- alfuzosin- very potent. likely most effective.
Flomax- tamsulsin- most popular. works well.
* Both work to relax the muscles in the bladder neck/prostate.
* Both work quickly.
* Both can cause some impotence, usually not the ability to have an erection, but the ability to orgasm, or delay orgasm.
* Both can cause ejaculatory issues ranging from retrograde to anejaculation.
Retrograde ejaculation is when the semen goes backward into the bladder, which is unusual, but usually doesn't effect the feeling of the orgasm.
Anejaculation is when no semen leaves the prostate at all to enter the urethra. This very much impacts pleasure. It can either take all the pleasure away, have a painful orgasm, or no orgasm at all.
Actually, anejaculation might be more common than retrograde.
* The side effects are many, though, most find them manageable.
Including- low blood pressure, dizziness, tiredness, fainting, along with the sexual side effects.

B. Testosterone Inhibitors
Proscar- finasteride. This works in the body to inhibit the production of testosterone to shrink the prostate which is testosterone dependant.
It takes longer to start working because it takes time to shrink the prostate enough to make a difference. as the prostate shrinks, your psa may actually go down.
Side effects....
* Decrease in sex drive. less testosterone less desire. high incidence of this.
* Less semen produced.
* impotence due to decreased drive.
* you might grow boobs. those boobs might have a discharge.
* hair growth...... with a full head of hair you might be more attractive, but with no sex drive it might not matter anymore.

2. Other Treatments- (procedure)