-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Getting ready to send a Mirkoru Mod 71 to Jess the re bore guy and have it made into a 35-348 Ackley Improved. If any of you have any experience with this wildcat please share your thoughts, loads, etc.

Going with a 3 groove 1-12 twist for 220 to 250 grain Kodiak Bonded bullets for our moose, caribou and bears. Should be close to a .35 Whelen out to 250 yards, but I doubt I can reliably hit well at that distance with a peep sight, but time will tell.

GB1

H
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
H
I have no experience with this cartridge. I do have two 348's, one with a rough bore that I was tempted to rebore to a 35-348 or larger. It still shoots adequately for my eyes and distances that I hunt. The other I had a custom scout scope mount built for it because a previous owner drilled the receiver for a side scope mount.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Sorry for my confusion, but are you boring it out an additional .010"? If so, does that work?

Murphy was a grunt.
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Undecided as to what to do, go with a .348 Imp. or a 35-348 Imp. The .348 Imp. is a simpler and cheaper deal and there are a few decent bullets for Alaska's critters. Can I swag a .358 bonded bullet to .348 diameter? The .348 Imp case has a tad more capacity, but not enough to matter.

Any one got a .348 or 35-348 Imp. reamer for rent?

Time to get sound advice form those that know, my Campfire buddies!

M
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
M