Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
A quick introduction, I have been lurking here on the forum for a while but I haven’t posted much. I’m a single dad raising my amazing 10 year old daughter, Renee.

We lived in SW Wyoming from 2012-2018 before taking the leap and moving to the North Slope in 2018. This year we moved to Barrow. I am a school teacher and I have taught everything from preschool through 5th grade. This year I am teaching PE for the first time. I teach in the largest elementary school in Alaska.

Renee is the student council president. She is an amazing kid. She loves to hunt and has been at my side for the last 2 dozen or so big games animals I have taken plus a loy if small game. Whenever I ask her if she wants to go hunting her only question is “should I start getting dressed now?”

After years of chomping at the bit to get behind the trigger, this year she received a sweet little 257 Roberts for Christmas(Remington Mountain Rifle in a Pacific Research stock with a Leupold 2.5-8x36 in S&K mounts-did I mention that it is sweet?!). So after some practice Renee is now looking to do her part in filling the freezer.

Below is a journal of a few of recent trips we have taken.
Easter Sunday hunt

For Christmas this year I purchased a rifle for my ten year old daughter Renee. It is her first big game rifle, all previous shooting having been done with her pink .22 Savage.

Fellow AR member Mark Young offered up the perfect first rifle. It is an early 90s Remmington 700 mountain rifle in a Pacific Research stock topped with a Leupold 2.5x8 scope in S&K mounts. Total weight is 6.5 pounds. Best of all it is chambered in the classy 257 Roberts.