Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 10 1 2 6 7 8 9 10
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
Originally Posted by CCCC
Started teaching in 1956 and started my first public school job in 1960 - taught strong and deep for many years - knew a ton of students and quite a number of teachers. None of that makes me an expert, but it does tend to have cultivated insights and some wisdom in the general area of teaching and teachers. As a citizen, I am not stating an opinion on whether or not schools should open, when and how.

As a teacher, my request is get me back into the classroom on time, full time with a full load of students - enable me to do something I do well for them, and enable them to do what they need to do - learn and learn to learn. Is this bravado? No! It is common sense and a drive to do what is correct.

Many people, including a lot of "teachers" are showing significant ignorance or selfishness - or some of both. This particular virus is not going to diminish or go away because of anything we do or do not do about opening the schools. This thing is going to run its cycle. and it is going to cause some more folks to die - and we cannot control or manage those overall effects. I do think that we can do a much better job of controlling the degree of illness in individual people once the illness is detected in them. That has nothing to do with masks, washing hands, opening schools or bars or stadiums. As more folks contract the virus. the overall effects will diminish - as with all such viruses.

Yes - continued deaths - but evidence is starting to show that it will kill about one half of 1 percent of the people who contract it, while heart disease will kill 4 times as many in the same time period, and about the same for cancer, and accidents will kill about 10 times as many.