Hop To
L
las Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
L
Redneck or whomever

I have never done this before - M70 XTR featherweight - instructions straightforward EXCEPT:

On factory fp there is a flat, that a screw on left side of shroud protrudes into. Firing pin retainer into shroud, looks like. Win FP inserts into shroud from back, Tubb goes in from front, will not slide into or out back

Is this screw needed on Tubb system? If not, what do I do with it - shorten it so it sets flush, set it with Locktite protruding? le

Do I need to file a flat on the Tubb fp to mimic factory? (haven't answered back yet). Step 8 Tubb instructions?

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Last edited by las; 07/17/20.

The only true cost of having a dog is its death.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
You have to machine out the flat like the factory pin gas. I took mine to my smith to do only took a few minutes.

If you find yourself in a hole....quit digging
L
las Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
L
Why? I can see no useful function for this on the Tubb. Pin goes in from front, cannot exit the back. Slight pin shoulder and springs keep it from doing so. Cocking pc keeps it from going forward within it's range.

Last edited by las; 07/17/20.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
It is for the safety.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Originally Posted by jmp300wsm
It is for the safety.
Um - NO.... The safety notch is on the cocking piece, not the firing pin shaft where the flat is for that retaining screw ..
Many models of the M70 have no FP retaining screw, depending on the year..

Ex- USN (SS) '66-'69
Pro-Constitution.
LET'S GO BRANDON!!!
IC B2

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
What are you trying to achieve?

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
OK I just know he had to machine something to make it all work. He mentioned it was for the safety? But it works very well on my 300 WSM classic.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular

Hey Redneck