Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
G
I purchased a 5 watt GMRS radio which uses UHF wave frequency and tested them them and only was able to communicate about 1.5 miles on flat open ground. I was expecting more with the 5 watts of power. I did some more research and a few articles i read stated a 2 watt MURS could outperform a 5 or even 40 watt gmrs radio outdoors because it utilizes the VHF wave frequency. Anyone care to share there experience and help me decide. I reached out to the online store i purchased them from and they recommended the radios i purchased even though they had both options for the same price. Of course another retailer recommended the 2 watt MURS radio.

Thanks

GB1

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
I’m not an expert

Do they still have cell phones with 2 way radios built in? Those were the chizzaayy

FUGK CCP

It’s time to WAKE UP
GOD BLESS THE USA
WWG1WGA
THERE ARE NO COINCIDENCES
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
If nobody can here can help, try these folks:

https://www.universal-radio.com/

"To compel a man to furnish funds for the propagation of ideas he disbelieves and abhors is sinful and tyrannical." -- Thomas Jefferson

We are all Rhodesians now.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
GMRS requires a license, MURS does not. Most handhelds are limited by the antenna, not the output power. Investigate HAM if you want Linder distances and repeater access.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by BobBrown
Do they still have cell phones with 2 way radios built in? Those were the chizzaayy

I remember working with a contractor in 2003 who used Nextel push 2 talk phones. They could talk 5 states over in the bottom of a holler in bfe to someone. My high dollar company 2 way radio wouldn’t even talk to the bottom of the hill I was standing on.

IC B2

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D