Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
srtrax Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
[Linked Image]
This is my first attempt at building a single shot. Caliber will be 6.5x55,full octagon barrel with quarter rib and sights, with detatchable Talley rings. Reciever and lever will be case hardened with nitrate blue screws. The Turkish Walnut stock was sent to GAGS and roughed out,(ebony forend tip is already installed.) I'm doing all of the work except the case hardening and checkering. I am a Mauser fan when it comes to building guns but dang if this ruger aint fun! What do you think so far?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Looks familiar. I see you are progressing at the same rate as my "custom" #1. I love the crushed blue velvet. Reminds me of a David Lynch movie.

Are you going to taper the octagon?

<<<<<<<<<<<SPACE FOR RENT>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
What do you think so far?

I think this is a terrific project and you must keep posting updates.

- TJM

srtrax Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Prostate: More has been done but lazy with the camera, and yes it will be tapered! Hey at least yours goes bang....

tjm10025: thanks, i'll do what i can as to updates. Working and fitting forend and (got the Ebony forend tip on), getting forend close to finish so when barrel is done wont be as much wood work to do, thats the part i sweat over.

1B Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
srtax,

Looks like a neat rifle project. The stock profile is especially pleasing.

What are your goals regarding weight,lenghth etc? The 6.5 Swede stalking rifle I just built is @ 34" long and weighs in about 7.5lbs scoped. Is the barrel already chambered? I had mine cut shorter than normal but within SAAMI and twisted to maximize accuracy with 120-140 gr bullets.

Good Luck,
1B

IC B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular