Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
Originally Posted by 10gaugemag
Originally Posted by Rlhunter0403
243 will absolutely do the job at 300 yards on any whitetail deer. I have seen several killed at that distance. Saw one shot at ~450yds with an 80g TTSX. We had to track him a little bit more that normal but he still died

To be expected when you shoot something as tough as a railroad spike at a small critter. Especially at extended distances.

Granted I have no experience w the monos because I see no need for them on something as small as a deer.

Funny how people say these copper bullets make a smaller caliber kill better but in my experience a cup n core at 2800+ fps that sheds a bit of weight kills like lightning.

Could be from a .224 to .308 caliber, same shot placement w equal bullet construction results in the same kinds of kills, rather quick w minimal tracking.

100% agree. If I knew I was going to make a lot of shots on game from that distance the TTSX would not be my bullet of choice. From 450yards it basically just poked a 6mm sized hole in him. I like mono bullets but they aren't perfect for everything like some claim. Bottom line is "most" rifle cartridges will get the job done on "most" game as long as you make a good shot and have the proper bullet construction.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by HuntnShoot
Originally Posted by southtexas
Originally Posted by Clynn
Its damn shame a guy can't ask a question without that kinda crap . How many new guys see that and never post because of it . Its BS .

The damned shame here is that nobody actually seeks to gain understanding anymore. They just ask online. It hurts to have to research, gather facts, and reason things out. It hurts bad.