Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
srtrax Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Hello, i'm a newby to this forum. I was reading "Gun Writers" Background and read where you (SHD) peeks in from time to time! I, like the gun writers have thoes who i look up to , past and present, and well you are one of them. I read your monthly artical every month and will buy a rag if it has anything to do with Custom Guns. I thank mostly you and Tom Turpin for what you are doing for the Custom gun making field. I myself have been bitten by the Custom Rifle and have been doing a few from time to time. Not to brag but i have got some real good praises from people localy and from gunshows. I gave up for awhile because of other outside pressures but it's in the blood and won't go away! I'm rebuilding my shop and getting started up again. Enough about me...
My question is are you self taught, or did you start out with some schooling in the gunsmithing schools. Did your very first gun come out perfect and you ran with it from there? (Every gun i've built, i always thought could have been better!) I understand you have to have a good eye and talent also. So what makes a talented gun maker such as yourself and what can you as an artist tell another builder what to do, look for, or whatever to get to that point where it is the perfect gun. Who, what, when, where, do you have to be to get to that point that you are a top flight builder! Don't give me that gosh, golly thanks, because brother your there and i'm after an honest answer. Tom Turpin, you've been around it enough that if you see this and want to put in your $.02 worth i'de get a kick out of hearing from you also! What does it take?

Last edited by srtrax; 08/02/07.
GB1

H
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
H