-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Thought I'd post this for anyone who hasn't heard of Joe Bacal. He's a professional test driver, former racer, and has consulted for various tire manufacturers. I believe most recently for Toyo, where he was involved with the new AT3.

Anyway, he doesn't have a dedicated website for his findings. And as a consultant, I don't know how much data he can share due to NDA, however he does post his opinions on his Youtube channel and some of those comments and advise have been copied and posted at various forums.

So, good info but you need to go looking for it.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
One interesting comment he made was that he preferred the Falken Wildpeak AT3 over the new Toyo AT3. He said it was one of his favorite tires and overall better than the K02 (now becoming an old design). However, he said the tread compound changed sometime last year and no longer likes the Falken as well. Now just a mediocre tire.

He's making these comments and suggestions based on actual performance measures, emergency lane changes, etc. Real testing, but also take it with a grain of salt because they can't test every use case so your needs may not be evaluated.

Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Looks like Joe Bacal goes by 'sand drifter' on ih8mud.

https://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/fa...pound-was-changed.1228525/#post-13794155