Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 11 12
S
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
S
"A close friend was shot at 20 yds with a load of #6 shot from a 12 gauge (pheasant hunting accident). He survived, but it was touch and go for awhile, and not pretty."

Sixty feet. Not "inside the house" and yet he barely made it.

As a paramedic I worked about 200 GSW. I saw people hit with everything from a 7mm mag rifle, to a .22 LR. Very popular round, I probably saw 50 patients hit with the .22 LR.
I have been up to my elbows in blood, dozens of times, working gunshot cases. Scores of times. Have you ever been up to your elbows in blood, trying to save a victim of a shooting?

The most lethal load I saw was the close range shotgun. Down South, most people keep a loaded shotgun right there in the living room closet, loaded with birdshot, usually #8. Might be a crow in the garden out back. Might want to go squirrel hunting. And, at midnight when folks are drunk, an argument starts, and son grabs the gun, and shoots dad. Or girlfriend shoots boyfriend. Right there in the living room, 12 feet away.

Of all these shootings I worked, the most lethal was the shotgun. I saw 14 such cases, all with birdshot, and every one went to the morgue. Belly, or chest it didn't matter the close range birdshot is a real killer.

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T

Never shot anybody myself, and although I've talked to a fair number of men who have, either in the military or in police work, I have never met and talked to anybody who had occasion to shoot an intruder who had broken into his home.

When I do, and if he's willing to discuss it, I'd like to ask him particulars about the layout of his his house, nearness of the neighbors, composition of exterior walls and where all his bedrooms are in relation to the spot where he pulled the trigger.

Also, whether the experience had caused him to change his mind about which weapons to reach for in the future.

G