Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
OP Offline
A
Howdy all, I'm new to the campfire (been reading, shadowing and taking notes for a whole bunch of years, but never bothered to register).

I've been waffling, and heavily on the fence about getting another rifle.

My main gun that I've owned and used for years is a well-traveled .35 Whelen in a Rem 700 action that a fella down in Texas made custom more years ago than I can recall. I love everything about that rifle except the lack of controlled round feed. I still have dreams of going after Alaskan peninsula browns one day - maybe, or musk ox.

I've had others, and dearly loved a .416 Rigby, built on a BRNO 602. Some years back, another fella liked that Rigby more than I did, and I sold it to him.

I've been happy with my Whelen for 10+ years now, and 250gr. Nosler partitions at 2600 fps seems to do just fine.

A few weeks back, my son and I discussed going on a Bison "hunt" in Ohio to put some meat in the freezer, and the thought of a bison has me missing my Rigby. Plus, my son wants my BigHorn Model 89 in .500SW for his college graduation. He wants to shoot a buffalo with that Model 89, so that'll be our rifle for this trip in a few weeks.

I've got 2 holes now in my safe, and I've been waffling on maybe getting a .375 HH - or even a .404 Jeffery to replace it. The .375 seems more sensible. I've never reloaded, but I'm not opposed to it - especially since ammo for the .35 Whelen seems to be getting more scarce every year.

Typically, I hunt whitetail deer, and maybe the occasional bison smile

HR IC

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
You could kill Ohio bison with a 22.

Originally Posted by 16penny
If you put Taco Bell sauce in your ramen noodles it tastes just like poverty
E
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
E
Get a .375 H&H.

Life Member SCI
Life Member DSC
Member New Mexico Shooting Sports Association

Take your responsibilities seriously, never yourself-Ken Howell