-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
My son just picked up a Henry in 45-70 and has shot several boxes of factory ammo from it and even downed a small buck this year. I plan to start loading for it. He gave me all his WW, Hornady and Starline brass. I plan to use Hornady 300gr JHP and 325 FTX (if I can find these). I have never loaded a straight wall cartridge before. I bought an RCBS 3 die set. I have IMR4895 and H322 to use. All my other powders are too slow.

I have never used a separate expander die before. Any tips on setting it up and using it? When do I check for case length... just after sizing or just after expanding? Lastly, I normally do not crimp. The RCBS dies have a roll crimp. I bought a Lee factory crimp die in case it is a better way to go. Any crimping tips?

Last edited by himmelrr; 02/04/22.
HR IC

G
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
G
Full length resize all brass cases.

Hornady and Starline brass will have less case capacity than WW cases, adjust powder in them using a chronograph to get like velocities.

Check length on Hornady brass, it may be shorter, if you want to use all three brands trim all to same length after full length resize.

Hit full length resized cases with VLD tool to chamfer inside case neck, slowly seat bullets, expander not necessary.

Give all a good pinching with Lee FCD in their cannelures.

58 grains of H-322 with both bullets will put you in a good place.

Trump Won!
T
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
T
The FTX brass is shorter to make a workable OAL with the pointed bullets. Your die set probably will not crimp this shorter brass unless RCBS has charged their dies in the last couple years.

Personally I’d forget the FTX and use other bullets so you don’t have to fiddle with the different length brass. Any of the various 300gr HPs from Sierra, Hornady, Speer, Remington, Winchester Etc are great deer bullets.