Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
OP Offline
B
Hello all! As the thread title states, I'm brand new to Savage pistols, or indeed, any Savage.

I've noted what is listed as a Savage 1917 in .380at my LGS. It is in excellent condition, very little bluing wear, and just minor scratches (just the bluing, not into the metal) and handling marks. The grips look nearly pristine. It comes with 2 mags, no box.

What really attracted me to it, beyond its basic design, and features...is its beautiful condition, for its age. And, in doing a little research on it, as I've no prior knowledge of this pistol, I've found something which seems to be in conflict with this pistol.

Namely...the bluing. It's lustrous, deep, and mirror-like. I commented on it to the LGS employees, I even asked if they thought it might have been a reblue, even though the markings and lettering appeared crisp and sharp to me, with no normal tell-tale signs of rebluing. No, they assured me the finish was original. So, I believed them, since I'm unfamiliar with these.

But now, in doing some research... everything I see seems to indicate that 1917s had a rather matte blue finish, not high gloss. I did see that 1907s had a more shiny finish, though. So now...I'm wondering.

I didn't take any pics, or note the serial number. I'm planning on going back, and looking at it more closely. I'm hoping to draw on the expertise of the members here, for some assistance. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to proceed, or perhaps some insight into the possibility of a high gloss 1917? Is it possibly a misidentified M.1907?