24hourcampfire.com
24hourcampfire.com
-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Disclaimer: I have zero experience with the .257 Roberts... never so much as seen one beyond online photos. I do own a 6.5 Carcano. I also recently aquired a 6.5 Jap, though I do not have any ammo or brass.

My question... I frequently see that 6.5 Japs were converted to 6.5x257. Can anyone tell me about such conversions with the Carcano. Is there THAT much difference between the two? I recently saw a gun that is clearly a Carcano, but is stamped 257 on top. I could be talked into it but I want to know what I'm getting into. How tricky is acquiring or creating brass for 6.5x257 Carcano. I can find nothing online about 6.5x257 Carcano.

Thanks in advance...

Last edited by AK_Taxidermist; 03/03/22.
GB1

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
The Carcano is just wrong for that conversion. Rim diameter and bbl groove diameter, Hornady used to make .266 dia bullets, but finding any now? Hmm. Rim dia, you are looking at .023" difference IIRC. Save your money.

Well this is a fine pickle we're in, should'a listened to Joe McCarthy and George Orwell I guess.
z1r Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
It is nothing more than a 6.5-.257. since 6.5 x50 brass was not easy to find, it was common to rechamber using a 257 Bob reamer. then throated accordingly. Easy to find brass, just neck up 257 Bob brass. I had one for a while but it was chambered incorrectly and the chamber was too long. I sold it and built a 6.5x55 instead.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

z1r Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Yeah, I'd just shoot the Carcano as is.

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F