Print Thread
Hop To
V
victoro Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
V
I've been buying tires from Discount Tire for over 30 years and I'm real close to needing new tires. I got on their website to see if they had the tires I want and they didn't have them in stock but can get them in a few days. I was about to place my order when I noticed on my shopping cart that they will give a 10% veteran discount for "online orders only". All you have to do is create an account on the "ID.me" website and they will verify that you are a veteran.

Sounded easy enough so I created an account and made a huge mistake of entering my Social Security number. I knew I shouldn't have done it as soon as I entered it. Nobody these days asks for your whole SS number they only want the last 4 digits. I'd already screwed up so I'd go ahead and get approved for the discount and order the tires. When I input the branch of service and service dates the response was "No records found". So now "ID.me " has my name, address, telephone number, email address and SS number and I didn't qualify for the discount. I guess "ID.me" is paying Discount Tire a lot of money so can gather their customer's information.

I'll go in person to Discount Tire to see if they will give me the 10% discount in person. If not I'll just buy tires somewhere else. I had some problems with Discount with the last set of tires I bought anyway. Not a problem with the tires themselves but with poor service. I mean serous things like loose/missing lug nuts and over tightened lug nuts (stretches/weakens the wheel stud).

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
I signed up for ID.me several years back, so don't remember if I had to give my full SSN or not. There are several websites that use it to verify military service for discounts, and it always works for me. Just fyi. Maybe it takes a while for them to verify your service and it to work?

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger