Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
Guys - I am wanting a custom single shot in a .264 or .257 caliber -- something for everything from coyotes to elk. I reload, but I don't want to get into something too exotic or detailed. My basic choice would be a .260 Remington. I would prefer an Encore base to build off from, adding a custom stock with a thumbhole and a barrel. This will be a hunting rifle, not a benchrest rifle, so I want to keep the weight down. I need common-sense advice in approaching this in order to keep costs down. I'm hesitant to buy a whole rifle off the rack if I don't plan on using the stock or barrel, but again this is new ground for me. I've owned a number of NEF single-shots but I have no experience with Encores or Rugers. Thanks.

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
An Encore system is very versital. You can get barrels in any length and caliber you desire. Just ask me as I have over 15 barrels. There are several companies who custom make barrels as well as TC Custom shop. Cost runs from under $200 to sky is the limit for a barrel. They tend to be very accurate, but do need the trigger reworked, as the factory trigger leaves a lot to be desired. There is also a ton of after market stocks and forearms available

Every shooter/hunter have different opinions. Mine is that the Encore system is very hard to beat

S
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
Thanks, DaGriz. So, can anyone tell me more about the T/C Custom Shop? I have tried to get information off their web page but haven't learned much. We have dial-up so its not reasonable for me to download their catalog. Is there a list of available calibers available? Can I order just a receiver and have aftermarket stock and barrel installed. I guess I better search their site better and find a customer service number.

Campfire Member
Campfire Member