Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
[Linked Image from hosting.photobucket.com]

[Linked Image from hosting.photobucket.com]

1-8” 7 Mashburn

Not sure how it kills any different but when you see the friction of the RPMs against the frontal diameter of the bullet it would seem to have to keep rotating in order to bend the petals in the propeller type way. If it was merely just turning over at the same rate of 1 turn in 8 inches I don’t believe you’d have that same effect, but I’m just a student of this. Cool to see others points as well.

It does take a relatively robust bullet like the BBC or a heavy TTSX or similar to see it.

A standard bonded bullet like an Accubond or Swift doesn’t show as well since it doesn’t really have petals to bend as it sorta balls up.

Last edited by beretzs; 07/07/22.

Semper Fi
GB1

M
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
M
It's a known fact that a lightly constructed bullet at high velocity and high RPM can disintegrate in flight.

So the answer in my opinion is yes, sometimes. There are a lot of variables though. Bullet construction, twist, impact velocity, impact medium, etc, etc.

Dre Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by mainer_in_ak
Heres some of my observations of rifling twist:

Had a 1:9.5" rifling barrel on a 9.3x62. With 300 grain swift-aframes, the recoil was stout.

In a 9.3x62 with a 1:14", the recoil was less, and those same 300 grainers recovered from moose and caribou shot a 400-500 yds expanded wonderfully.

In a savage 99 308, with 1:12 rifling, some 200 grain bullets would key-hole the target.

In a ruger 308 with 1:10 rifling, itll stack those same 200 grainers into quarter inch groups.

I always wondered about this with heavier bullets….Faster twist will have more recoil.

All of them do something better than the 30-06, but none of them do everything as well.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by shrapnel
Originally Posted by TrueGrit