Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
T
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
T
I am going to be buying a new/new-ish outboard in the 15-25 HP range for use on a 16' jonboat. Tiller steer for sure, electric start preferred. What are the 'fire's preferences of Yamaha vs. Suzuki vs. Mercury vs. Honda? I know Yamaha is like the Toyota of outboards, and I have had a couple of them (both 2 strokes, both solid). No experience with 4-stroke outboards of any make.

The biggest problem our country has is not systemic racism, it's systemic stupidity.
GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
From what I gather - all the small hp outboards are basically the same under the cover/paint.

Mercury Marine is basically local for me and as such - finding places with parts and service is pretty easy so that's likely the only real choice offered but I don't think any of the 4 you listed, in 4 stroke would scare me any.

Me

Z
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Z
I have no experience with any 4 strokes other than Suzuki. I bought a little one new in 2017 to push my jon on the river and it has been a great motor so far. I use the boat 50-75 days a year, and have had zero issues, other than chewing up props on rocks a few times.

I just change the oil when it starts getting dirty, put a new spark plug in it once a year. I did rebuild the water pump last year, but that was more for peace of mind than anything. It was still pumping, but it wasn't quite as strong a stream as it had been. The impeller was a little worn, but not bad. Wear plate, housing, and drive pin still looked almost like new.

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
spent a week in Canada this year fishing. Had a john boat and 15 HP Merc. I'd always used Yamaha's, but this Merc worked out real well. Slightest bit cold natured in the morning, but ran it 8 hours a day, flat out and trolling without a problem.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter