Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
H
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
H
Recently became the owner of 2 44 magnum pistols. One is a 7.5" Ruger Super Redhawk and the other is a Smith and Wesson 629 Performance Center hunter model. I would like to shoot them more and get better accustomed/comfortable using them. I am not a very good pistol shot as I have not shot pistols very much. I am also new to reloading pistols but have been loading rifles for years.

I am interested in a lighter recoiling load. What I have is 200 Hornady 240gr XTP's and 500 various head stamped brass. The powders I currently have are W296, Lil Gun, 300 MP, and I believe that is all but willing to get whatever I need.

I am having trouble finding pistol primers and heard that possibly Large Rifle primers could be used?

Thanks
HeavyBarrel

" A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government"
G. Washington
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Hard to beat 8 to 9 grains of Unique with a 240 gr Keith style semi-wadcutter for a plinking load.

For hunting, I use a 250 gr LBT WFN hard cast bullet with 10 grains of Unique.
Works great on feral hogs and deer here at the Ranch.

"Allways speak the truth and you will never have to remember what you said before..." Sam Houston
Texans, "We say Grace, We Say Mam, If You Don't Like it, We Don't Give a Damn!"

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
IME the worst thing you can do is shoot full power loads all the time when you first start shooting a 44 mag. A 200gr-220gr lead bullet and a load that will give you 900fps-100fps will be a good load to practice with.

The Karma bus always has an empty seat when it comes around.- High Brass

There's battle lines being drawn
Nobody's right if everybody's wrong
H
Campfire Regular
OP Offline