Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
dod6 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
D
As a complete newb to the reloading game, I have a million questions but here is one: my COAL is going to be limited by my magazine length on a couple rifles (for my tikka .308 I just happen to have a m+ as my spare mag). How much should I back off of max allowable magazine length in order to keep recoil and general hunting abuse from rubbing polymer tips raw? FYI I’m loading 270 and 300 win mag. Thanks!!

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
I would just make them fit the mag and go with it.

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
You need to find out what your Coal is with the bullet seated just touching your lands and grooves to make sure your not jammed when seating to mag length. If mag length is shorter than start at mag length. If mag length is not shorter start 20 thousands off the lands and grooves. Just make sure your bullet is NOT JAMMED

Good bullets properly placed always work, but not everyone knows what good bullets are, or can reliably place them in the field
D
dod6 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
D
Sorry guess I should have given more detail. I found my max coal at the lands with a Hornady oal gauge. BTW those must take a terribly long time to get the hang of. Getting repeat measurements is a pain. On my M70 300wm, my mag box is a good bit shorter thus limiting my allowable length. I’m slightly concerned about loading them tight in the box and recoil either damaging the tip or slightly seating the bullets further. Is this worth worrying about or should I just load them so they feed well and forget about it?

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Originally Posted by dod6