Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
At that price range I'd look for a used bike. Start by riding a few at bike shops and get a feel for the different geometries. Mostly pavement and dirt/gravel roads won't require expensive components. I have a 29er that's fast but my favorite is a 27.5+ with 27.5 x 3.0 tires.

I'd be looking in this order:
- frame that fits and will take a 3" wide tire
- front suspension
- dropper seat
- hydraulic brakes
- 1x drivetrain

What would Porter Rockwell do?

I
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I
The used market is starting to open up and some very good bikes with little use are showing up and not selling. A few more months when retail stores start feeling the inch of over stocking and prices in both places will fall. At least that’s what observant people are thinking will happen. I suspect it will but im no expert.

From what you are looking at doing you may find that a gravel bike will fit your needs and be more comfortable for longer rides.

On tire size I’d go for a 29 inch set up. It rolls over bumps with less felt impact. If you go with a hard tail that will help with comfort depending on the trail.

I’ve owned 27.5, ridden full 29 and presently own a mixed wheel (27.5 rear 29 front). 29 is smoother. If you think there is a chance you might like to get into trail riding it may be worth thinking over a decent full suspension setup.

There are a lot of options. Pinkbike classified section is a good place to look to get a feel for the used market. Major brand going to get you a better bike than off brands. Researching components on the particular build is a good idea. That’s where used can get you more bang for the buck.

Last week I saw the bike that im riding advertised on pinkbike. Guy bought it to ride with his son but found out life was too busy. He had ridden the thing a couple of times and was asking about 60% of what he paid for it.

Let us know what you find.

A