Print Thread
Hop To
Page 12 of 15 1 2 10 11 12 13 14 15
P
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
P
I've never had the tip fall off of a Partition. :-)

GB1

R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
Recently used some Speer hot core .277-130 on plains game.
Shot placement made more difference than bullet construction provided the bullet wasn't totally unsuitable.

Reason: delayed arrive of ammunition. That is why I travel with a rifle chambered for cartridges that are available everywhere.

Last edited by RinB; 01/08/17.

“Perfection is achieved not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away”.
Antoine de Saint-Exupery. Posted by Brad.
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Good point, Rick. I've taken African plains game with probably a dozen dozen different brands of bullets, partly because of what I do for a living, and my hunting partners have used a few more, some of which would be sneered at by the bullet experts on the Campfire. In fact I've taken plenty with "non-premium" bullets, including (gasp!) Sierra GameKings--and may again.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Originally Posted by RinB
Recently used some Speer hot core .277-130 on plains game.
Shot placement made more difference than bullet construction provided the bullet wasn't totally unsuitable.

Reason: delayed arrive of ammunition. That is why I travel with a rifle chambered for cartridges that are available everywhere.

I'd like to hear that story.

E
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
E
It may be that shots on the African game are predicated to be in the very front of the animal, likely intersecting bone, while most in NA shoot behind the shoulder?

IC B2

P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P