Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
OP Offline
R
I recently bought a .54 caliber Pedersoli Hawken Target primarily for hunting elk. I have been reading a lot on muzzleloading on forums and other websites as well as watching videos but I have no experience with muzzleloading. I have put together a list of supplies to order online and I wanted to get some feedback about things that are missing from my list or things that you would change. Also, are there any muzzleloading books that you would recommend for a beginner?
.530 roundballs
.015 patches
.018 patches
short starter
No Excuses Bullets
.58 caliber wads
Swiss FF Powder
powder measure
no 11 caps
nipple wrench
cleaning solvent
Barricade Rust Prevention(or a similar product)
range rod
cleaning brush
cleaning jag
cleaning patches
powder charge tubes

GB1

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
Looks fairly complete to me.

As far as a range rod goes, my philosophy has been to use the ramrod for all shooting and cleaning. First reason being that it builds muscle memory for yanking it out and putting it back in the thimbles (and get in the habit of putting it back in the thimbles after loading each shot - you'd be surprised at all the mishaps that can happen to it otherwise). Second reason by dispensing with the range rod it's one less thing to schlep to the range. Just get the cleaning implements fitted to the ramrod. And don't forget to get a ball puller that fits the rammer too, because sooner or later....

Cleaning solution? Save a few beans and just use hot soapy water. It's worked just fine for centuries. If the barrel is easily dismounted from the stock, just do so and take it into the shower with you. Sluice the barrel at the same time you sluice yourself.

Powder charge tubes? Meh. Just a bunch more things to clutter up your shooting bag. Get a horn and a powder measure, it's not that much slower to load with - especially after you've mastered it.