Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
OP Offline
E
Hello Everyone!

New member here - found my way after doing some internet research on my newly inherited Winchester Model 70.
This rifle was my grandfathers, who lived and hunted around Tulsa, Oklahoma. I'm new to hunting, and this is my first rifle.

I'm hoping to share some pictures, learn a little more about it's history, and draw on the knowledge of the experts here to maintain the rifle responsibly, and pursue some upgrades where appropriate. My ultimate goal is to use the rifle this fall (I live in Maine) in pursuit of my first whitetail.

Included below is a link to a recently created image gallery. Please let me know if there is a better way to include images in the thread.

https://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/galleries/18477557#Post18477557

Last edited by ExLibris; 06/05/23.
GB1

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
That is a sweet rifle. Missing the front hood, but that is common. You can buy those on ebay for $25.00. Your grandfather kept it in excellent condition. Looks like he rarely hunted it. This is like the perfect "first rifle" and cartridge for a new hunter. The 243 is a sweetheart and does not punish your shoulder, while it will definitely put down deer and even elk. I'd be proud to own that piece of history.