Print Thread
Hop To
D
dave284 Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
D
The only lead I've ever loaded are some relatively mild loads for 38, 357, 44 spcl and 44 mag so I'm a newb when it comes to loading lead for a rifle.

A local bullet caster offers non gas checked 300 and a 405 grain RNFP 45/70 bullets with a BHN of 15. They offer gas checked 430 and 500 grain RNFP with a BHN of 22. I'm looking for two loads, 1 a mild load for volume shooting to 100 yards or so, that isn't hard on the shoulder and the second for a good deer load to maybe around 200 yards. What would you suggest?

Question two, what is the max velocity that each of the bullets could likely be pushed without leading the barrel?

Thanks.
Dave.

Those who are always shooting off at the mouth usually aren't shooting straight.

Build a man a fire and he’ll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he’ll be warm for the rest of his life.

www.wvcdl.org
GB1

G
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
G
First question, what gun will you shoot them in? That'll determine if you can crank the velocity of a big cast bullet up into the range of velocities that'll require a gas check. 1895 Marlin or modern falling block single shot, or the equivalent? Or a Trapdoor Springfield or equivalent?