Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
K
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
K
Hi all,
I'm a newbie reloader and I have some Winchester nickel plated .357 magnum cases that I can't remove the entire primer from the primer pocket. The dimpled part of the primer came out, but the sides of the primer separated from the top and stayed in the pocket. How do I get the sides of the primers out? Drill bit? What size? Better ideas? Thanks for any help.
kstockfo

p.s. I tried a primer pocket cleaning tool from K&M but that didn't budge the part of the primer that stayed in the pocket.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Usually this happens with crimped in primers and a primer pocket swager is used to correct the condition. I have no experience doing so and frankly, I’d just order some new Starline brass for reloading.

T
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
T
Let me guess? Wet tumbled brass? Don't do that!

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
This happens when brass is wet tumbled before being deprimed. Deprime what you can and sell the rest for scrap. Don't buy used wet tumbled brass that isn't deprimed.

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
OP, you might be able to remove those parts with the proper sized EZ Out broken screw extractor. You might soak them in penetrating oil for a couple of days first.

Never had this problem in 50 years of handholding so this just a guess.

'Four legs good, two legs baaaad."
----------------------------------------------
"Jimmy, some of it's magic,
Some of it's tragic,
But I had a good life all the way."
(Jimmy Buffett)

SotG
IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Why does wet tumbling stick the primers. The concept seems strange to me.

I could wish a lot of things on my worst enemy but neuropathy ain't one of them.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Kenlguy
Why does wet tumbling stick the primers. The concept seems strange to me.

Yep sounds weird. Don’t know why this wouldn’t work. Small crimped primer tool