Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Campfire Sage
OP Offline
Campfire Sage
T
I've been walking my dogs at night in this neighborhood for 20 years, and in the last five or six years one yard I regularly pass has a chain link fence right up to the sidewalk, and inside has been a 60 pound male Pitbull (just a pup five or six years ago) and an 80 pound female German Shepherd (who was a pup about four years ago). Well, they both go nuts like they're just dying to get out and attack whichever dog I'm walking past them each night, but it never really occurred to me they could get loose, since the fence and gate are all in good condition, and the gate is always fastened.

And tonight, as usual, they stormed the fence and went wild like they were desperate to get out to get my dog (a large, 80 pound, functional type, bulldog) and, as usual, they were stuck behind the fence, and my dog just ignored them as we passed. However, for some reason, on this particular night, the thought occurred to me, "What the hell would I do if they somehow got out?" I'd have a hell of a time dealing with a fight between my dog and those two all by myself, and shooting the Shepherd and Pit would only be a last resort, and a very undesirable one.

Anyway, so now it's time to come back home, and I pass near the property again, but now, in the darkness down the street (about fifty yards from their yard), I could just make the two of them out running around loose.

Oh crap! They see us and immediately start barking and charging towards us with obvious menacing intention. As they closed on my dog, he had his eyes sharply on them, with an alert posture. When they got within a few feet, he lunged forward with a roar, and those two practically fell over themselves to make a last second turn on a dime, then ran off with their tails between their legs, heading in the direction of their yard. I told him good boy, and gave him a pat on the back.