Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
ranger1 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
My son is looking at getting his first custom rifle put together. This will be his "do-all" rifle for some time moose, elk, deer, bear, antelope.
Mine are built on Defiance actions, but I have no experience with them post buy out so what else is good? Looking for the following:
1. 30 caliber magnum
2. Sub 7 pound bare rifle
3. 22-24" barrel
4. Magazine capacity of 3 or more

What can be done? I know what I would do, but I'd like to see some ideas that I wouldn't have thought of.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Since ding dong bought Defiance the prices are retarded.
I'd either shop for a used 700 or one of the 1000 dollar clones.
Keep it simple
300 win mag.
In a mag I prefer a 24 inch barrel .. hate giving up free velocity.
Stock to suit you.
dave

[Linked Image]

Only accurate rifles are interesting.
B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
I don’t imagine a 7lb magnum would be a picnic to shoot. For that weight I would shoot a mild 7mm but it’s his money and his shoulder. Does he need SS? Will he be a reasonable man and realize 95 percent of all the game he will ever shoot in his life will likely be killed at less than 200 yards? A lot of people convince themselves a magnum answers all questions. Perhaps a year after f toting a Kimber Ascent in that caliber would give him a chance to decide if that is really the solution. There has been a lot of ink spilled over the years about the 30 06 for good reason. I am partial to Winchesters and Mausers. Properly set up with a good barrel they will generally shoot better than most people are capable of shooting. Hopefully it’s a fun project for him!

Last edited by bluefish; 11/06/23.

The way life should be.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
My old M700 KS .300 Win Mag checked all of those boxes. It was 6.75 pounds bare, and a kicker.