Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Ngrumba Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Anyone ever cast bullets from silver? Worked for the Lone Ranger and might be good on werewolves.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Lead is around 8% heavier than silver.

So a 405 grain slug by mold volume would weigh around 372 grains cast of silver.

Google says silver is going for $24 per ounce "today".

372 grains equals .850286 ounces.

So every bullet would cost around $20.40

Probably still a good deal if the vampires show up.

And no, I've never cast any silver bullets.

I prefer peace. But if trouble must come, let it come in my time, so that my children may live in peace. ~~ Thomas Paine
A
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
A
He wouldn’t know, he’s just posing that he does know.

Those that mess with concocting your own alloy, how do you test the hardness?

Reason I'm asking:
I'm no expert bullet caster by any measure

Last edited by anothergun; 12/17/23.
G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
I sold a guy a perfectly good RCBS .45 230 RN mold and he turned around and tried to cast silver bullets to make necklaces. In the process of casting at 1700+ degrees he warped the mold blocks. So no, I wouldn't recommend it. Better off turning silver bullets in a lathe, if one should go forward with such an idea. (I originally typed "hairbrained idea" but thought better of it.)

"You can lead a man to logic, but you cannot make him think." Joe Harz
"Always certain, often right." Keith McCafferty
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Cost prohibitive, 1000ish degrees hotter than normal lead casting temps, warps molds, and a BHN of 24.5...2.5 points higher than straight linotype.

I prefer peace. But if trouble must come, let it come in my time, so that my children may live in peace. ~~ Thomas Paine
IC B2

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I don't use silver, so how did I do this?

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

I am..........disturbed.