Print Thread
Hop To
J
JayB93 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
J
I'm new to Mausers and would appreciate some help with identification. This one is chambered in 7x57, has a low profile Timney safety and a Boyds stock. Markings appear to be Belgium. What do I have here?

Attached Images
Mauser view.jpg (31.86 KB, 194 downloads)
Mauser
Mauser safety1.jpg (30.94 KB, 192 downloads)
Mauser Safety1
Mauser safety2.jpg (22.98 KB, 194 downloads)
Mauser Safety Closeup
Mauser markings.jpg (22.48 KB, 195 downloads)
Mauser Markings
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Any markings on the left side rail?

"Live like you'll die tomorrow, but manage your grass like you'll live forever."
-S. M. Stirling
J
JayB93 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
J
Left side shows a serial number of 16796

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
JayB93;
Good morning to you sir, I hope this last Friday of the year is treating you well down in your part of Texas.

From the photos you've shown, it looks like the barrel is a military contour with a military rear sight and as you've noted at least one proof mark is Belgian.

The Timney safety is an older one that works on the right side and is either nickeled or chrome. I want to say they've all been left mounted for at least 20 years now and all that I've seen since then were blued. Might be more than that too, I'm semi-ancient and the memory isn't what it once - or perhaps never was.

The bolt shroud is a military one that's been either polished or might be nickeled or chromed too. That's not uncommon from the '50's and '60's.

If there are any makers marks on it that weren't scrubbed off, the most likely place they'll be is on the top of the receiver under the Pic rail.

Sometimes if its wartime production it'll be just a couple or three letters. I've got the Ludwig Olsen book with which letters meant what factory and it might be online too for that matter.