Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
B
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
Please.let me know what knife(s) you use for field dressing elk. Pictures appreciated. I'm looking for one knife to carry and not interested in the replaceable blade category. Thanks all!

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Same Gerber Gator I've been carrying for 12-13-14 years. Actually I have 2 of them, hard to tell which one I'm using.

Gerber Gator

Adversity doesn't build character, it reveals it.
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
I used a Carbon Steel Recon Tanto (7") on my first cow elk. I reamed her bung hole, opened her up, split the brisket up into neck for windpipe, dress her out, and get this...it would still shave hair off my arm! I have since gone to a San Mai Outdoorsman also by Cold Steel. I usually tale several other knives in my daypack honed razor sharp IF I need them. I also have a Tim Wegnor Clip It folder that is awesome, used on some African game. It may be worth it to you to look at the "Diamond Blade" knives. They claim they stay sharp for 5-6 deer before touch up. Good luck to you Pard!

D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
I have used an Ingram on roughly 3-400 animals primarily elk. Before that I used a bench made fixed blade with D2 with great success. Really depends on what you want. Utility or something that you’ll appreciate more. Anything will work. I’ve gutted and skinned a cow with a 2.5” folding buck knife.

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Havalon. Just don't manhandle the blades and they won't break. Used then on deer, elk, and moose.

IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Dogpopper