Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
kenjs1 Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I redid the stock of an old, odd, Savage bolt action 30-30 of a friend. I got it looking great and replaced the ancient scope that seemed to touch the barrel. With new scope and mounts it is hitting way too low. I have never shimmed a scope but plan to try this one. Any no-cost or very low cost advice? I assume I would shift the lower rear of the scope. Sound right and do I need to also shim the front upper??? Total novice on this.

As an aside this is an heirloom from is grandfather and there is no manual to be found even after calling Savage. They discontinued this rifle before 1940 if I recall. Thought I screwed the pooch after taking it apart and wondering where the hell this little spring and bearing came from.

When a country is well governed, poverty and a mean condition are something to be ashamed of. When a country is ill governed, riches and honors are something to be ashamed of
. Confucius
GB1

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
To raise point of impact you raise the rear end of the scope.

Did you check the alignment of the rings with alignment bars or similar? If the centerline of the rear ring is lower than the centerline of the front, then you can shim the rear base to fix the misalignment and raise the rear end of the scope. If the rings are already in alignment then shimming will bind the scope.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Cheap and easy fix, beer or soda pop can cut a piece to fit your rear base, drill hole for mount screws and you have a .01 shim.

Swifty
H
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
H
Buy the correct rings. Shims are a last resort! Just my 2 cents.

R
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
R
Originally Posted by Swifty52
Cheap and easy fix, beer or soda pop can cut a piece to fit your rear base, drill hole for mount screws and you have a .01 shim.