Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Skeezix Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
From early 80's to mid 90's, I was a contractor for NASA and the Army Missile Command doing mostly R&D and Test & Evaluation engineering. One of the many cool projects going on in the early 90's was making metal tools and parts in space using powdered metal as the base material. I wasn't officially assigned to that project, but a close family member was, and my being a "wrench head" and having a strong background in metallurgy, as well as another technology used on that project, I was "consulted" several times.

The strength of the tools and parts depended hugely on the method of fusion of the metal and there were multiple methods tested. They were literally trying to make a "replicator" for hand tools and other parts. Before I left the gov't, they had advanced past normal open-end and combination wrenches and were making some quite good crescent wrenches and channel-lock pliers, as well as screw drivers, nut drivers, and some parts. One of the big things NASA and, to a lesser degree, Missile Command did at the time was "technology transfer" to the commercial world of things they developed. Been wondering if that technology was ever passed on to the commercial world. After I left the gov't, the project was defunded during the Clinton years, the family member transferred onto something else, and I lost track of the 3D metal printing technology.

Lately, I've seen a few gun parts that look like they could've been done using 3D metal printing, and specifically, the guts of a suppressor (can't remember the brand). With the advancements in polymer 3D printing, I've been wondering if anyone is doing metal 3D printing?