Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
My brother got the little card in the mail that acts as a preliminary questionnaire to see if you're a candidate to serve. Where it asks for a reason that you wouldn't be a good pick, he wrote "Racially biased." Never heard a word again.

I got the same card a few years ago and just stated that I was a business owner and nobody else provided for my household. Got a call a few weeks later telling me that I could ignore it.

I'll do everything in my power to get out of serving a system that I believe is a failure and only benefits the highest bidder, while paying jurors like its still 1910.

N
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
N
I got called three times in four years and never was selected. Our work schedule was already finalized by the call in time for the next day’s court session so I got a day off. We got paid for it anyway.

When you get a little older 😁 you don’t have to worry about jury duty anymore. 😁

NRA Life,Endowment,Patron or Benefactor since '72.
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
Going through voir die one morning a defense attorney asked if anyone in the jury pool knew the defendant
I raised my hand ( knew the guy from high school )
He asked if that would prejudice me in making a fair ruling to which I replied " I have more respect for a rattlesnake "
I was excused.

Another time I got picked for a jury, rape case.
Went to lunch and just happened to sit down at a table next to 2 uniformed LEOs.
They had a couple of good looking gals w them.
As they were eating lunch they discussed the prosecutions evidence in the case I had been picked for.
Seems the defendant was LEO and used his handcuffs in the assault.

Luckily for me I knew the Judge, I was her service consultant at local Cadillac dealer.
I asked her bailiff to see her, told her what I'd overheard.
She dismissed the entire jury and as we were leaving we could hear her reaming the 2 LEOs