Print Thread
Hop To
T
teesh Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
T
Just bought the Chrony Beta Master from Midway. But I'm new to chronograph use. Was wondering if anyone could possibly offer any advice or tips for a new user? I've read the basics of the unit and everything seems pretty logical. Just looking for any advice from those who have BTDT.

Can anyone recommend a specific tripod to use? I figure I ought to buy a good one since I'll probably be using it with a new high-end spotting scope ($750-$1000) that I'll be buying soon.

Thanks for any info.

Last edited by teesh; 02/02/08.

War does not determine who is right - only who is left.
GB1

R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
Most any tripod will work, I use one I bought for my camera many years ago. I don't know that you need to buy a real "quality" tripod as all you need to do is hold the Chrono at the right height and steady. I suspect the cheapest one you can find will do that much.That said, it is YOUR money and decission.

S
S
Try not to shoot it the first time you use it - it is best to wait a month or two before you kill the first one.

Don't ask how I know!

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
As Ruger 4570 says any decent tripod will work. I got mine in a scratch and dent sale at our local photo place as the boxes had been damaged. It ran about $50 and is sturdy enough it will hold the spotting scope steady even with a stiff breeze. Does have bubble levels in a couple places which is handy.