Hop To
#2245742 06/08/08
D
dae Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
D
I just aquired a J C Higgins model 51 with an FN mauser action and am having trouble figuring out how to disassemble the bolt. The safety is on the left side of the cocking piece. Can anyone help me?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Mr. dae;
Remembering my manners, I will first say welcome to the fire from southern BC.

The second item I am compelled to mention is that I am not a professional, simply an ex-farmer that likes to tinker with firearms.

On the 98 type actions that do not have a 3 position safety, I find that bolt disassembly is easiest with a bench vice with leather, wood or lead gripping surfaces. It is a good idea at this point to note exactly the position of the release pin on the bolt shroud and the shroud itself is in relation to the bolt handle. A picture is a good idea if possible, as it must be in the same place when reassembled or it won�t fire.

I place the cocking piece into the vice jaws at the extreme right side, with the remainder of the bolt hanging out to the right and tighten the vice. The padding is important, as we do not want to ruin the front of the cocking piece where it contacts the sear.

Once the cocking piece is secured in the vice, depress the release pin on the left side of the bolt shroud while pulling forward on the bolt body itself and turn the bolt counter clockwise. There will be pressure as you pull the bolt, as you are depressing the mainspring as you unscrew the bolt from the shroud.

The bolt should now turn off of the shroud and expose the mainspring, cocking piece and firing pin which are one assembly.