Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 6 10 11
B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Where I learned to hunt( I am still learning), in Northern Maine and New Hampshire, the success rate on ANY deer was maybe 15%(much less on mature bucks).The country is akin to the Pacific NW with huge blocks of remote forest and low deer dendisties.

The notion that you could pick and choose shoulders or lungs in the limited ,fleeting opportunities up there is just laughable, and if you want A deer at all, you better shoot, fast, at whatever is offered because if you are really picky with your shot selection, you are gonna grow old,and never kill a deer at all.

I am jealous of those who get so many deer-shooting opportunities that they can wait for the things to stand just right and pick their shots before they shoot. Course, you could shoot up a whole ham on a single big Maine buck and still have more meat left over than with two of those little old Pacific NW blacktails grin!

Last edited by BobinNH; 06/23/08.

The 280 Remington is overbore.

The 7 Rem Mag is over bore.
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
SamO: The last deer I nailed was a real screw up on my part. I was aiming down at almost a 70 degree angle with obviously not much of the lower torso available. Don't know how I did it, but I hit high in the shoulder broadside and ran a 7 mm slug the full length of the right loin. Sad because the remaining meat was some of the finest tasting venison I've ever put on the table.

As far as meat retention goes, If I am close and there's no trophy potential, I'll try to rip the head off just below the jaw bones.

1Minute
B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
Yes. First choice. Usually instant death when done right. Still dead quickly if off a little. Seen it work to many times to think any thing else.

Battue

laissez les bons temps rouler
Jeff_O Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Originally Posted by jds44
Originally Posted by Jeff_O