Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
Vince Offline OP
OP Offline
V
After reloading some 223 rounds my brother and I decided to sort the assembled cartridges by weight (approx 184gr)

We started off with a Lyman DPS 1200 and when I rechecked some of the cartridges the readings were different by up to .4 grains than what the cartridge checked a few minutes earlier.

Thinking it was the scale I got my RCBS Rangemaster and sorted them again, similar results !!

We tried it zeroing on a cartridge then sorting by weight difference and by zeroing the scale and separating by actual weight.

We compared between scales and found they often differred by .2 and once in a while .3 grains

My brothers reloading room is draft free with a very solid and level bench. I have lost all confidence in these scales for anything closer that .4 grs.
Is there a solution or do we have to go back to the 10-10?

Last edited by Vince; 08/17/08.
GB1

R
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
R
If you are weighing loaded rounds and did not sort your brass and bullets for uniform weight, then I would guess the variance you are seeing is due to the variation in brass and bullet weight more than the charge weight.

We may know the time Ben Carson lied, but does anyone know the time Hillary Clinton told the truth?

Immersing oneself in progressive lieberalism is no different than bathing in the sewage of Hell.
R
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
R
i would have to agree. if you didn't wiegh and seperate the brass and bullets that would be the difference. alot of people make that mistake. all brass cases are not created equal like men are.

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
"I have lost all confidence in these scales for anything closer that .4 grs. Is there a solution or do we have to go back to the 10-10?"