Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
K
My brother in law just inherited a nice 30 wcf lever action. Serial number 12052xx. Apparently it was made in '42 according to a website I found. I'm not an expert in grading guns but the bluing is mostly there but getting light on the edges like the reciever, loop, bands etc. NO rust or pitting and the wood looks pretty nice with no major dings.
Can anyone tell me about how much this gun might we worth and are there any "guesses" as to how much these old Winchesters might go up in value as the years go on? Thanks Don

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Does it have flat sides on the barrel band? Prices have gone Sky high after Winchester closed but are rapidly coming back down to earth with the economy tanking. Who knows what the future holds. It's probably appreciating better than most 401K's. As far as value goes it could range from $800-$2000+ depending on the condition of the metal, wood and bore. Are the screws buggered, is it complete, original etc.
How about some photos?

K
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
K
The gun is now 50 miles away. I'll probably have to spend more time looking it over. I didn't notice anything special about the barrel bands and didn't look at the condition of the screws or sites. I just did a quick look over and got the serial number so I could check it later for model year.
From what I understand there were alot of these made but this is towards the early side of production?
I really wasn't guessing it would be worth that much $$$--even on the low end but realize that between Winchesters recent faultering and the economy tanking there will have to be a "settling out" of prices sometime in the next few years.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker