Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
Campfire Ranger
OP Online Content
Campfire Ranger
V
One of my proudest achievements of my adult life (age 15 and on or more than 42 years) is the fact that I have NEVER purchased a newspaper!
I don't steal them I just have never lowered myself to pay for a large or medium sized town paper!
EVER!
I ignore them and their intrinsic propoganda at all turns.
But yesterday I took the VarmintWife and VarmintSon #2 out to dinner. VarmintSon #2 is home on spring break from college.
At the now vacant table next to ours was laying idle, an "evil" newspaper!
The headline of the section of the paper I could see was this headline: "Montana's Giant Bighorns"!
I lowered myself to retrieve the section of the paper and later I read the article.
The subtitle of the article read: "In the last three years Hunters in Montana have taken 110 rams that make Boone & Crockett Record Book"!
I was stunned by this.
I have been observing Montana Bighorns for many decades now and also applying for a coveted Bighorn Sheep tag and I have the maximum number of "bonus points" for the yearly draws. I have as yet to be successful in the draw though.
But the news that 36 or 37 record book Bighorns are harvested every year in Montana really impressed me!
The article (from the Thursday, March 19, 2,009 Great Falls Tribune) went on to relay the triumphs of the intensive management program for these delicately balanced game animals.
The article related that 2 (two) Bighorns were harvested in the last 2 (two) years that scored over 200 B&C points (inches!)!
The article relayed the population of Bighorn Sheep in Monana was 1,200 animals in 1,951 and as of last year the population is over 7,000 Bighorns!
The article also mentioned the unfortunate killing of a 204" Bighorn Sheep by an undercover agent from the Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks Department during October of 2,008.