Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
How long can I expect the barrel of my .300 WSM to last? I am fairly new to reloading and was interested in "playing" around. I've already purchased 180 grn ETIP (50), Barnes MRX's (60), Barnes TTSX's (50), Nosler Ballistic Tips (50) to try. However, I have just come across a post suggesting the expected barrel life of a .300 WM is about 1000 rounds - this has gotten me concered? Would the barrel life of a .300 WSM be the same?Perhaps I cannot afford to play around as much as I hoped to?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
It's funny when people put an actual number to the expected life of the barrel.

I can tell you that if you clean the gun cautiously, avoid shooting the rifle until the barrel's too hot to touch comfortably, and keep it oiled and protected from corrosion, it'll last for several times that number of shots. If you do all these things the wrong way, it could last for even less than 1000.

It also depends on the barrel material used and how well it's made. If it's from a good company, I would treat the rifle properly and not worry about it at all. If a day comes when you need a new barrel, you'll have an excuse to drop a few hundred bucks and get a REALLY good barrel on the rifle. wink

AFP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
A friend's Krieger barreled Lazzeroni Patriot (within about 1 grain of case capacity and shaped very similar to a 300 WSM) was competitive at 1K BR at 1500 rounds. This means he could routinely shoot 5-6" groups at 1K with it. NBRSA 1K BR is VERY hard on barrels, especially when you shoot both the light gun (5-shot groups) and heavy gun (10 shot groups) classes, like he did. Every match he'd get the barrel way too hot to touch. At 1800 rounds the barrel would throw occasional flyers.

Given that, a well-cared for premium 300 WSM barrel on a big game rifle should easily last 1500-2000 rounds.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger