Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
A
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
A
Originally Posted by oulufinn
The vitals on a hog are farther forward than many folks think. Behind the shoulder is likely a liver or gutshot. Just above the leg/body junction, through the plate are the goodies if one isn't taking the ear shot... Farther forward will increase the "Luck" with about any bullet. Ear is a DRT. Angles on body shots are very critical, as well.

http://www.dixieslugs.com/anatwpig.htm

[Linked Image]

+10. I thought hogs were bulletproof until I started shooting them in the shoulder rather than just behind it.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I have well over a hundred kills with Barnes Bullets and use them almost exclusively. From 224 cal up through 416 no problems ever. Animals from extra small antelope species weighing int at under 50 lbs in Africa up through and including Eland and Cape Buff. I have seen cup and core bullets fail to penentrate too many times, in person, with real and bad results, to continue to use them since I don't have to.

Pigs and most African game carry their goodies way up forward compared to deer. Great diagram. Use the straight above the leg idea on Piggies as well as most african game and one will have far fewer long tracking jobs whatever the bullet.

LOVE God, LOVE your family, LOVE your country, LIKE guns and sports.

About 2016 team "R" candidates "We definitely need a crew with a sack of balls the size of hot water bottles, bloviated estrogen leaking feel-gooders need not apply." Gunner 500
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by BobinNH
Ray: I have not used Barnes bullets on game, but notice a lot of the "problems" seem to be associated with the smaller calibers; I notice (hear, read) the guys shooting animals with the 375's seem very pleased with them.I looked at a couple of 235 TSX 375 bullets that were pretty impressive, fired into eland and kudu.