Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
J
jlovell Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I apologize if there are a ton of these questions, I did a forum search and was not able to find anything significant

I am interested in buying my first rifle. So far when I go shooting I just use my Dad's .22 Ruger.

It will be used for both hunting and target shooting. As for the game, I plan on hunting white tail deer in Maine. Eventually I would like to go moose or black bear hunting but that is going to be a little ways down the road.

I have been looking at getting something in the .270, 30-30, or 30-06 round.

Right now I am leaning more towards the 30-30 and thinking of getting either a Winchester model 94 or a Marlin 336. They are cheaper than the 06 and also do not have the same kick.

I'm aware that this may not be sufficient for moose or black bear and it will limit me on the distance I will be able to shoot deer from also, that is okay because I'm just starting out and it will give me an excuse to buy another rifle a few years down the road.

My knowledge on guns is fairly limited so any information would be greatly appreciated. I am also not set on only these 3 rounds, they just seem to be the most popular I have seen.

Any suggestions for both rounds and type of gun would be great.

jlovell

HR IC

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
"It will be used for both hunting and target shooting. As for the game, I plan on hunting white tail deer in Maine. Eventually I would like to go moose or black bear hunting but that is going to be a little ways down the road."

30-06 if moose and black bear are in the equation.

g

"I have sworn upon the altar of God, eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man."
Thomas Jefferson

GeoW, The "Unwoke" ...Let's go Brandon!

"A Well Regulated Militia" Life Member

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
06 offers more versitillity

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter